Listen to Article — 5 min
Bank of America, Citi, Goldman Sachs and 18 other financial institutions committed on Sept. 1 to establish a stablecoin company during the second half of 2026, subject to closing conditions. The unnamed venture plans to issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin during the first half of 2027, with a euro stablecoin named as the first expansion priority. The consortium spans banks and asset managers across North America, Europe, East Asia, the Middle East and Africa. Bank-led Consortium Targets 2027 Dollar Stablecoin Launch The 21 institutions said the project will issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin during the first half of 2027. The group said it may later introduce tokens linked to other G7 currencies, with a euro stablecoin named as its first expansion priority. The consortium said the token would be used across wholesale, institutional and retail markets, including: Cross-border payments Settlement for digital asset transactions Payment and settlement flows across wholesale, institutional and retail channels The announcement remains a development plan rather than a completed launch. The group has not disclosed the company’s name, token name, blockchain networks, reserve custodian, governance structure or final redemption terms. Which Financial Institutions Are in the Stablecoin Group? The consortium comprises banks, asset managers and other financial institutions based across North America, Europe, East Asia, the Middle East and Africa. The full participant list by region: Region Institutions Named in Consortium Public Confirmation Status North America Bank of America, Capital One, Citi, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs, PNC Financial Services, Scotiabank, TD Bank Group, Wells Fargo, WisdomTree Included in Sept. 1 consortium announcement Europe Banco Santander, BBVA, Commerzbank, Crédit Agricole, Deutsche Bank, Lloyds Banking Group, Rabobank, UBS Included in Sept. 1 consortium announcement; BBVA also published the consortium news East Asia MUFG Bank Confirmed participation via separate Sept. 2 release Middle East & Africa Sirius International Holding, Standard Bank Included in Sept. 1 consortium announcement MUFG confirmed its participation through a separate release dated Sept. 2. BBVA also published the consortium announcement through its corporate news service. No later disclosure had named the operating company or assigned specific roles to individual members. Compliance, Governance and Distribution Architecture The group said the project would combine the participants’ distribution networks with bank compliance, governance and risk-management systems. Those are company claims about the planned product, which has not yet entered the market. The consortium has not specified how the stablecoin will be reserved, which custodian will hold backing assets, or how redemptions will be processed. The institutions span traditional banking and asset management. Fidelity Investments and WisdomTree are the two asset managers in the group, while the participating banks operate cross-border payment networks. The group has not detailed the legal structure of the new company or the jurisdiction where it will be incorporated. Regulatory and Market Implications The planned stablecoin is set to enter a closely scrutinized segment of the digital asset market. Because the venture targets a U.S. dollar stablecoin first and a euro stablecoin later, it will be exposed to monetary and payment rules in both the United States and the European Union. The group has not said which regulatory approvals it will seek. No ticker, token contract address, target blockchain or trading venue has been announced. The consortium has not released any financial terms, reserve allocation details or launch price. The company’s creation remains subject to closing conditions, and no token has been issued or listed for trading. Market Impact Remains Undefined The announcement did not include a launch date beyond the first-half 2027 target, nor did it identify a reserve custodian or redemption agent. No market price reaction has been reported for the planned stablecoin, since it does not yet exist. The project is separate from existing dollar-pegged tokens and would enter the market only after the company is formally established. The group said the project would combine distribution networks with bank compliance, governance and risk-management systems, a structure that differentiates it from non-bank stablecoin issuers. Those are stated plans, not operational facts. What Is the New Stablecoin Company Announced by 21 Banks? It is an unnamed venture that 21 financial institutions committed to establish in the second half of 2026. The group plans to issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin in the first half of 2027 and later expand to other G7 currencies. Which Institutions Are Part of the Stablecoin Consortium? Participants include Bank of America, Capital One, Citi, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs, PNC Financial Services, Scotiabank, TD Bank Group, Wells Fargo, WisdomTree, Banco Santander, BBVA, Commerzbank, Crédit Agricole, Deutsche Bank, Lloyds Banking Group, Rabobank, UBS, MUFG Bank, Sirius International Holding and Standard Bank. When Will the Consortium's U.S. Dollar Stablecoin Launch? The company is expected to be established in the second half of 2026, subject to closing conditions. The U.S. dollar stablecoin is targeted for the first half of 2027. What Will the Stablecoin Be Used for? The consortium plans to use the token across wholesale, institutional and retail markets. Proposed uses include cross-border payments and settlement for digital asset transactions. Has the Stablecoin Company Name or Token Name Been Disclosed? No. The group has not disclosed the company’s name, token name, blockchain networks, reserve custodian, governance structure or final redemption terms.
Follow Our News on Google
Be instantly informed of developments.
Bank of America, Citi, Goldman Sachs and 18 other financial institutions committed on Sept. 1 to establish a stablecoin company during the second half of 2026, subject to closing conditions. The unnamed venture plans to issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin during the first half of 2027, with a euro stablecoin named as the first expansion priority. The consortium spans banks and asset managers across North America, Europe, East Asia, the Middle East and Africa.
Bank-led Consortium Targets 2027 Dollar Stablecoin Launch
The 21 institutions said the project will issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin during the first half of 2027. The group said it may later introduce tokens linked to other G7 currencies, with a euro stablecoin named as its first expansion priority.
The consortium said the token would be used across wholesale, institutional and retail markets, including:
- Cross-border payments
- Settlement for digital asset transactions
- Payment and settlement flows across wholesale, institutional and retail channels
The announcement remains a development plan rather than a completed launch. The group has not disclosed the company’s name, token name, blockchain networks, reserve custodian, governance structure or final redemption terms.
Which Financial Institutions Are in the Stablecoin Group?
The consortium comprises banks, asset managers and other financial institutions based across North America, Europe, East Asia, the Middle East and Africa. The full participant list by region:
| Region |
Institutions Named in Consortium |
Public Confirmation Status |
| North America |
Bank of America, Capital One, Citi, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs, PNC Financial Services, Scotiabank, TD Bank Group, Wells Fargo, WisdomTree |
Included in Sept. 1 consortium announcement |
| Europe |
Banco Santander, BBVA, Commerzbank, Crédit Agricole, Deutsche Bank, Lloyds Banking Group, Rabobank, UBS |
Included in Sept. 1 consortium announcement; BBVA also published the consortium news |
| East Asia |
MUFG Bank |
Confirmed participation via separate Sept. 2 release |
| Middle East & Africa |
Sirius International Holding, Standard Bank |
Included in Sept. 1 consortium announcement |
MUFG confirmed its participation through a separate release dated Sept. 2. BBVA also published the consortium announcement through its corporate news service. No later disclosure had named the operating company or assigned specific roles to individual members.
Compliance, Governance and Distribution Architecture
The group said the project would combine the participants’ distribution networks with bank compliance, governance and risk-management systems. Those are company claims about the planned product, which has not yet entered the market. The consortium has not specified how the stablecoin will be reserved, which custodian will hold backing assets, or how redemptions will be processed.
The institutions span traditional banking and asset management. Fidelity Investments and WisdomTree are the two asset managers in the group, while the participating banks operate cross-border payment networks. The group has not detailed the legal structure of the new company or the jurisdiction where it will be incorporated.
Regulatory and Market Implications
The planned stablecoin is set to enter a closely scrutinized segment of the digital asset market. Because the venture targets a U.S. dollar stablecoin first and a euro stablecoin later, it will be exposed to monetary and payment rules in both the United States and the European Union. The group has not said which regulatory approvals it will seek.
No ticker, token contract address, target blockchain or trading venue has been announced. The consortium has not released any financial terms, reserve allocation details or launch price. The company’s creation remains subject to closing conditions, and no token has been issued or listed for trading.
Market Impact Remains Undefined
The announcement did not include a launch date beyond the first-half 2027 target, nor did it identify a reserve custodian or redemption agent. No market price reaction has been reported for the planned stablecoin, since it does not yet exist. The project is separate from existing dollar-pegged tokens and would enter the market only after the company is formally established.
The group said the project would combine distribution networks with bank compliance, governance and risk-management systems, a structure that differentiates it from non-bank stablecoin issuers. Those are stated plans, not operational facts.
What Is the New Stablecoin Company Announced by 21 Banks?
It is an unnamed venture that 21 financial institutions committed to establish in the second half of 2026. The group plans to issue a U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoin in the first half of 2027 and later expand to other G7 currencies.
Which Institutions Are Part of the Stablecoin Consortium?
Participants include Bank of America, Capital One, Citi, Fidelity Investments, Goldman Sachs, PNC Financial Services, Scotiabank, TD Bank Group, Wells Fargo, WisdomTree, Banco Santander, BBVA, Commerzbank, Crédit Agricole, Deutsche Bank, Lloyds Banking Group, Rabobank, UBS, MUFG Bank, Sirius International Holding and Standard Bank.
When Will the Consortium’s U.S. Dollar Stablecoin Launch?
The company is expected to be established in the second half of 2026, subject to closing conditions. The U.S. dollar stablecoin is targeted for the first half of 2027.
What Will the Stablecoin Be Used for?
The consortium plans to use the token across wholesale, institutional and retail markets. Proposed uses include cross-border payments and settlement for digital asset transactions.
Has the Stablecoin Company Name or Token Name Been Disclosed?
No. The group has not disclosed the company’s name, token name, blockchain networks, reserve custodian, governance structure or final redemption terms.
This article is provided for informational and educational purposes only. It is not offered or intended to be used as legal, tax, investment, financial, or other advice. The digital asset market is highly volatile, speculative, and subject to rapid regulatory changes. While we strive to ensure the accuracy of the information presented, market conditions change quickly, and data may become outdated. You are solely responsible for your own research (DYOR) and financial decisions. ATHPost, its owners, and its authors assume no liability whatsoever for any direct or indirect financial losses, liquidations, or damages arising from the use of this content.